Spinach, Blueberry, & Toasted Almond Salad

DSC03484

Last summer while traveling with friends in Poland, we stopped by an adorable pierogi restaurant to purchase pierogies for lunch to bring on our bus ride. The extensive menu listed over 50 different savory filling combinations — mostly some combo of potato, onions, meats, cheeses, etc — but after scanning the list and finding the small section of fruit options at the bottom, I immediately knew that I needed the blueberry. There was no other option.

DSC03095

Ever since then, my dear friend Laura insists on pointing out to me every time I eat blueberries that I have a weird obsession with them. I don’t eat blueberries often throughout the year, so I never really realized up until her wise remarks that it’s kind of true: I love blueberries. I remember sitting outside of an ice cream stand in Maine with my family a few summers ago, happily sipping a blueberry milkshake when everyone within a 100-ft radius of me was holding an ice cream cone. In middle school, my go-to frozen Eggo waffle flavor of choice was never the plain or the chocolate-chip that my brother liked, but the way-too-sweet blueberry-filled ones. Over my four years in college dining halls, I looked forward to the mornings with blueberry crepes on the menu because it meant that I could apply a liberal serving of the blueberry filling on top of my bowl of hot oats. Looking back now, I fully admit it: My name is Rachel and I love blueberries.

This isn’t much of a recipe, but that doesn’t mean it isn’t any less deserving of its own post. Simply add some warm toasted slivered almonds and a sprinkling of fresh blueberries on top of a bed of spinach (or any greens), add your dressing of choice (I chose a tangy sesame ginger dressing, which worked well), and there you go. A simple, fresh salad with a delicious crunch!

DSC03483

Another reason to love blueberries. 🙂

Question: Favorite way to eat blueberries?

Leave a Reply

